Be Thrifty! (Part 1)

When shopping for myself, I admit I spend a lot of time drooling over things I just simply can not afford. I know so many stores that could provide my dream wardrobe but in reality it’s just that, a dream (sigh). Of course I’ll splurge once in a while if I really reeeeally love something, even if I know it will hurt my bank account.  What I absolutely love though, and recommend to anyone else finding themselves pinching pennies, is thrifting! I think it’s safe to say that I’m addicted. It is so rewarding to walk out of a store with a bag full of clothes and not have the guilt of knowing you just spent your grocery money for the next month. 

When I thrift shop I go into this zen mode, taking the time to literally go through every single piece…on every single rack…until I submerge several hours later with a heaping cart of things to try on. Soooo satisfying.  Yesterday I went to Goodwill and also checked out an adorable little vintage/thrift store nearby called Grime. I’d never been there before but it’s definitely one that I will be going back to on a regular basis!

SO…I put together three different looks with the goodies I found today, as well as other items I already own, to prove that you DON’T need to break your bank in order to achieve the style you are going for. 

Outfit 1– Men’s flannel shirt: $10 at Grime, Black purse: $6.99 at Goodwill

Outfit 2– Vintage tee: $5 at Grime, Sweater: $4.99 at Goodwill, Straw bag: $4.99 at Goodwill, Belt: $1.99 at Savers

Outfit 3– Scarf: $.99 at Savers, Denim shirt: $3.99 at Goodwill, Black purse: $6.99 at Goodwill, Woven flats: $14.00 at Grime

Tomorrow (in Part 2) I will share some of the “wishlist” items I wanted, and the similar items that I ended up finding for a fraction of the price at various vintage and thrift stores!

Song of the day: Monkey Gone to Heaven by The Pixies

3 thoughts on “Be Thrifty! (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

